Homemade Christmas advent 

So I am a very incredibly crafty mummy and any chance I get I love to encourage my boys to craft as well. So when it comes to Christmas I take the opportunity not to buy a chocolate advent calender but to make my own. 

Here’s what I did last year and how I did it…

  
I simply printed off a craft/event and popped it in a envelope with a token chocolate coin one each for my boys then they get to open one a day until Christmas Eve when they get their Christmas boxes. I’m afraid I wasn’t very inventive with my decoration and my purpose was to do it without spending too much money! So brown envelopes and Christmas tape it was, with a basket tied up with a sparkly bow.

My printed advent was fairly simply and I based it on simply crafts that my boys could do and events that were happening in December as well visits to places like the garden centre, Santas grotto etc.  I actually printed simply sentences followed with an image (Pinterest is a pretty good app for this) as my boys then 3 and 1 wouldn’t have got the idea behind it otherwise.

Here’s some of the days (for some reason I didn’t photograph them all)  

   

 
DIY advent 

1 make Christmas cards | 2 make playdough | 3 present Christmas book | 4 search for pine cones and decorate with pompoms | 5 make Christmas pizza | 6 put the Christmas tree up | 7 visit the reindeer | 8 make Christmas paperchains | 9 make reindeer pegs for Christmas cards | 10 Christmas letter from Santa | 11 choose a new Christmas decoration for the tree | 12 present sticker book | 13 make ginger bread house | 14 make hot chocolate and visit the Christmas lights | 15 go to Christmas party | 16 make Christmas biscuits | 17 decorate the snowmen | 18 make marshmallow snowmen | 19 make a Lego snow globe | 20 go to Nannys house | 21 go see Father Christmas | 22 go see the gruffalo | 23 present homemade Christmas stocking | 25 Christmas Eve box 

I hope this inspires you to get your craft on this Christmas they are only little once! 

 

5 thoughts on “Homemade Christmas advent 

Leave a Reply

