Craft

Handcarved stamps….

hand carved stamps close up

For those who follow my instagram feed you may already know that my little brother is getting married this year. I am super excited about this as he always swore he wasn’t the marrying kind (I knew it was because he hadn’t met the right girl yet though!) anyhow I offered to make the stationary for them. I did my wedding stationary (6 years ago) but crafts and my experience have come on lot since then, plus my bro and fiance are my biggest crochet fans and love everything I make.

Anyway I really wanted to make them special and personal  so I thought I would have a go at handcarving my own stamps. I follow a few accounts on instagram and was totally inspired and after a few (I’d like to say minutes but we all know its never minutes !) hours on pinterest I had filled my online shopping basket full of goodies and waited.

I had a few practise runs but once I got the hang of it its pretty easy, use the smallest blade to go round the outline of the image first then use the bigger ones to get rid if the part of the block your image doesn’t use. Then ink and stamp it, removing anymore of the block until you’re happy with the print…ta dah…easy right?!

I only spent about £6 in total on these materials but I do think I would upgrade to a better lino handle and cutters for a sharper and smoother cut for future stamps…but I hooked!

Materials | 

  • Stanley knife (I already had a few well used one from my uni days)
  • Speedball Speedy Carve block (I ordered a small one 4″x6″)
  • Lino handle which included 5 cutters
  • Tracing paper
  • Paper on which to draw logo or print one out from the computer
  • Ink pad
  • TOP TIP Wetwipes (very essential as so easy to clean up stamps afterward!)

stamp prints

 

Stamps made so far…..Its a wonderful life silhouette (the bro’s favourite Christmas film) | Tea & Crochet logo  | Teapot | Brothers and fiance’s initials.

Go try it….x

4 thoughts on “Handcarved stamps….”

Leave a Reply

