CAL A Block A Week 2014, Crochet

CAL – Week 22 Crown Jewels – Week 23 See how they run – Week 24 Grandma’s Heart Square

So I have been on a major CAL catch up this week and just in time for week 25 released tomorrow. Here are the little lovelies that have keep me busy this week…

cal blocks June

This is a great CAL  to take part in and I would definitely recommend this to anyone, to find out more visit the Facebook Group Official CCC Social Group. The past blocks can be found here and this cal wouldn’t be without the talented Dedri’s tutorials which go hand in hand with each block pattern every week. So here are my attempts the last few weeks:

Crown Jewels (week 22)

Hook: 5mm
Pattern: by Melinder Miller
Yarn: Stylecraft Special DK in Raspberry, Mocha and White
Notes: As much as I love the finished block I definitely had a love hate relationship with this block as it took at this two attempts to get my popcorns right, but I’m fairly pleased with it.

cal see how they ran
cal see how they run

cal see how they run close up

 

See How They Run (Week 23)

Hook: 5mm
Pattern: by Margaret MacInnis
Yarn: Stylecraft Special DK in Raspberry, Mocha and White
Notes: This block reminds me of snowflakes! How odd! I did like this block and it was fairly easy to work up. The last row I did just sc in every stitch and chain as I was using the same colour and the spike wasn’t really showing through.

cal crown jewels

cal crown jewels close up

 

Grandma’s Heart Square (Week 24)

Hook: 5mm
Pattern: by Carola Wijma
Yarn: Stylecraft Special DK in Raspberry, Mocha and White
Notes: Now this block is very Alice in Wonderland and I couldn’t really follow the pattern so I relied mainly on dedri’s tutorial quite alot. I do love the finished block and would love to make more, watch this space…

Cal grandmas heart square

cal grandmas heart square close up

cal grandmas heart square picot

 

Harlequin Shells (Bonus Block)

Hook: 5mm
Pattern: by Carolyn Christmas
Yarn: Stylecraft Special DK in Raspberry, Mocha and White
Notes: How lovely does this block look?! I have made it a little too large but I think it should be aok, this was a pretty straight forward block and I made it up without really thinking to hard I think a baby blanket version is on the horizon.

cal hallequin

cal halequin square close up

3 thoughts on “CAL – Week 22 Crown Jewels – Week 23 See how they run – Week 24 Grandma’s Heart Square”

  1. Looking good Lou. My bonus block has gone all tight in the middle and baggy around the edges. It will no way lie flat! Have I done something wrong?

Leave a Reply

