CAL A Block A Week 2014, Crochet

CAL – Week 16 Lace Petals & 17 Winter Rose

So still pretty busy with baby blankets but I have managed the CAL blocks here’s the last two weeks:

Lace Petals – week 16

CAL 16 Lace petals close up

Pattern – Lace Petals by Chris Simon
Hook – 5mm
Yarn – Stylecraft special DK in White, Mocha, Raspberry

Notes – This block I love it is completely different from the others we have done so far and I love the lacy look and feel to it. I will admit its not perfect but I quite like that after all its handmade by me!

Don’t forget to pop over to loopsan’s blog to see her beautiful blocks.

And so…

CAL 16 Lace petals

CAL 16 Lace petals flower

Winter Rose – week 17

cal 17 winter rose detail

Pattern – Winter Rose by Julee Reeves
Hook – 5mm
Yarn – Stylecraft special DK in White, Mocha, Raspberry

Notes – Oh my goodness this one has been the hardest one for me so far…I really had to concentrate and I’m not sure I followed the pattern to the letter either (oops). I didn’t read the groups advice till I was quite far through the block of only going up to Row 14 and using a smaller hook, so what I did was follow the pattern up to round 12 then I missed round 13 and finished on round 14 with just trebles (dcs in US terms). So rounds 15-19 were sadly missed out. I do love how textured this block is but sadly I’m not really happy on how I’ve worked it up I may try this one again.

The block begins with the popcorn stitch which makes up the main flower I tried my hand at a tutorial that may be handy here

If you are trying or would like to try this block you will no doubt need Dedri’s tutorial on her blog Look at what I made it is a invaluable tutorial that I very much needed.

And so to my wonky little block..

cal 17 winter rose

cal 17 winter rose flower

cal 17 winter rose back detail

For full info on this CAL (here) or visit the facebook page (here)

And here’s how my blanket is looking…I do have a couple of small ones that I think need an extra row of half treble (hdc in us)

Cals 1-17

I’d better start blocking this little lot before I get to the end of this CAL otherwise I’m going to have no space in my house come Christmas!

2 thoughts on “CAL – Week 16 Lace Petals & 17 Winter Rose”

Leave a Reply

