Crochet, Tutorials

Popcorn Stitch

My Step by Step Tutorial for the popcorn stitch.

Popcorn stitch example

Now I’m no expert crocheter but I’m no beginner either and looking through the posts of my new favourite facebook group (official CCC social group) a lot of people seemed to struggle with the popcorn stitch. So I made my own short photo step by step tutorial as it helped me and may help others. Please feel free to let me know your thoughts as I’m still learning myself.

Popcorn stitch:

Uk terms – 5 tr into stitch, leave loop insert hook into first tr, pick up loop and pull through stitch.

US terms – 5 dc into stitch, leave loop insert hook into first dc, pick up loop and pull through stitch.

So here’s the step by step pictures:

Popcorn step 1

Step 1 – 5 tr (5dc) into stitch then remove hook from loop.

Popcorn step 2

Step 2 – Insert hook into the first tr stitch (dc stitch)

Popcorn step 3

 Step 3 – Then insert hook into loop

Popcorn step 3

Popcorn step 3

 Step 4 – Pull the loop through the stitch (I found squeezing the 5 tr (5dc) together when doing this helped)

Popcorn step 4

 Step 5 – Chain 1

Ta Da!

3 thoughts on “Popcorn Stitch”

Leave a Reply

