Granny square love

20140115-072226.jpg

Right so I’ve had quite a lazy start to the year with my crocheting I have too many ideas and don’t know where to start. All I seem to do is get all my lovely yarn out fondle it and put it back or search the websites for more yarn. This is no good so I decided as I had a few balls of left over stylecraft yarn from my boys blankets and christmas presents I would practice some granny squares.

Now this still took me a little while to decide which granny square to try, I spent an entirely evening on Pinterest and Ravelry looking for a design I liked. I eventually decided on Little Tin Birds Honey and Roses granny square (pattern here) and I am very happy with the results. I’ve been using my new clover amour 4.5mm hook and they are coming off my hook very easy. I don’t think I’ll have enough yarn to make a full sized adult blanket but I should be able to manage a cot sized blanket for a baby.

20140115-072040.jpg

20140115-072053.jpg

20140115-072102.jpg

So far I used stylecraft’s special dk meadow, aster, raspberry, grape and white. I do have some lipstick and green but they are very bright and can’t bring myself to clash them just yet.

I’ve not attempted a granny square blanket before so the next stage of joining is going to be a challenge. I’ll keep you posted with my progress…which this space!

Leave a Reply

